Russell Peters .. How True

When I came to Singapore in 2007, I moved into Mahesh’s room. He asked me to see a comedy video of some Canadian born Indian by name Russell Peters. Ever since I saw that video I have become such a huge fan of Rusell and his Comedy style. As of today in my friends group, when ever we feel a little low, we see one of the many videos of Russell that we downloaded.

As a fan of Russell, we friends normally try imitating him in many ways in our daily life. We also try comparing the cultural resemblance that asians have with respect to what we saw in his shows. Yesterday one of those similar events happened which made me write about this post.

In one of the show Russell explains how Indians and Chinese cannot do business with each other. The same thing happened last night with us when we were looking for a taxi at Clarke Quay.

A Chinese guy who owns a van which could fit 10 people came to our group and asked if we were interested in taking his van.

Chinese Guy: Hello, You want Van for your group.
I: No thats ok.

Chinese Guy: You take 2 taxi and pay 50 dollar, you pay 50 dollar and come in my van
I: OK. Then give me a good deal.

Chinese guy speaks to his friend who is the actual driver and the says

Chinese Guy: You seem to be a good man. I give you a good deal. 49.90

Everyone in the group remembered the same scene from Russell show where a Indian goes to chinese shop to buy a bag and Chinese shop owner would’nt give a discount of more than 50 cents.

I: OK tell me what you can get me in 10 cent without hesitating for a moment.

And to all of our surprise he came up with an answer.

Chinese Guy: Give me 10 cent I can get you a mint.

Ha ha Russell, how true and well said.

Chinese and Indians can do business together but cannot do it with each other. Chinese do not give a bargain and Indians do not leave a bargain.

Leave a Reply

